Vagaro alternative

The Vagaro alternative built for South African service providers

Vagaro publishes US pricing and supports the US, Canada, the UK, and Australia. Booklink is priced in rand at a flat R79/month, takes deposits through Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha, and sends WhatsApp reminders.

Booklink is a strong Vagaro alternative in South Africa for salons, therapists, and trainers who want local payments and a rand price. Vagaro is a broad beauty, fitness, and wellness platform: its US pricing page lists $30 a month for one location (with an introductory $23.99 for the first 6 months), plus $10 for each extra bookable calendar up to seven, a 30-day free trial, and a free Vagaro Marketplace listing with no booking commission. Its deposits run on Vagaro's own card processing, and its support centre covers the US, Canada, the UK, and Australia, with no mention of South Africa. Booklink's Free plan covers 1 team member and 30 bookings a month, and the R79/month Pro plan adds deposits through your own Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha account plus automatic WhatsApp reminders.

Booklink vs Vagaro at a glance

Feature Booklink Vagaro
Monthly priceR0 or R79/mo$30/mo per location, plus $10 per extra calendar (up to 7)
Free plan✓ 30 bookings/mo, 1 team member✗ 30-day free trial
South Africa listed✓ Built in South AfricaNot stated (US, Canada, UK, Australia)
South African payment gateways✓ Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, iKhokha✗ Vagaro card processing
Deposits✓ Per service (Pro)✓ Requires Vagaro card processing
WhatsApp reminders✓Not stated (text + email)
Commission on bookingsNoneNone, per Vagaro
Marketplace listing✗✓ Free Vagaro Marketplace listing
Team membersUp to 5 (Pro), flat pricePer calendar up to 7, then no extra cost
Classes and packages✓✓
POS and inventory✗✓

Why South African providers choose Booklink over Vagaro

Deposits through local gateways

Vagaro's deposits need Vagaro's own card processing. Booklink connects your own Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha account, gateways South African businesses already use.

WhatsApp reminders

Vagaro describes text and email reminders. Booklink's Pro plan sends automatic WhatsApp reminders, which South African clients are far more likely to see.

A flat rand price

A 5-person team on Vagaro pays the location price plus 4 extra calendars, in US dollars. Booklink's Pro plan is R79/month for up to 5 team members, fixed in rand.

A free plan, not just a trial

Vagaro offers a 30-day free trial. Booklink's Free plan stays free for 1 team member and 30 bookings a month, so you can start small and upgrade when it makes sense.

Any service business

Vagaro targets beauty, fitness, and wellness. Booklink also suits tutors, photographers, consultants, cleaners, and driving instructors.

Simple and focused

Booklink does bookings, payments, calendar sync, rooms, and reminders, without the POS, payroll, and marketing suite you may not need.

What the plans cost in rand

Vagaro prices in US dollars per location and per bookable calendar. Below is the standard price for a 5-person team (matching Booklink Pro's 5-team-member cap), at the mid-market rate of about R16.30 per USD (xe.com, 26 September 2026).

Tier Booklink Vagaro (1 location)
Free tier availableYes, R0 ยท 30 bookings/moNo, 30-day free trial
Solo providerR79/mo flat$30/mo, about R489/mo ($23.99, about R391, for the first 6 months)
5-person teamR79/mo flat$70/mo, about R1,141/mo
Annual cost (5 people)R948$840/yr, about R13,694
FX riskNone, billed in ZARPriced in USD

Vagaro pricing from vagaro.com/pro/pricing (US pricing), checked on 26 September 2026: $30/month for one location, with each added bookable calendar licence at $10 up to seven licences. Rand figures are estimates at the mid-market USD/ZAR rate on that date and will move with the exchange rate.

When NOT to choose Booklink

Vagaro has real strengths of its own. Here is where it beats Booklink.

You want marketplace discovery without commission

Vagaro includes a free marketplace listing and says it never charges commission for bookings through it. Booklink gives you a booking page, not a consumer marketplace.

You need an all-in-one salon or gym platform

Vagaro covers POS, card readers, inventory, memberships, forms, payroll, and marketing. Booklink focuses on bookings, online payments, and reminders.

You have a large team in a Vagaro country

After seven calendar licences, Vagaro adds more employees at no extra cost. Booklink Pro covers up to 5 team members (contact us for more), and it is built for South Africa rather than the US, Canada, UK, or Australia.

Frequently asked questions

Is Vagaro available in South Africa?

Vagaro's pricing page is titled US pricing, and its support centre publishes setup guides for the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia. South Africa is not mentioned on any page we checked. Booklink is built and operated in Cape Town for South African service providers.

How is Booklink different from Vagaro?

Vagaro is a full business management platform for beauty, fitness, and wellness, priced at $30 a month for one location plus $10 for each extra bookable calendar (up to seven). Booklink is a focused booking tool for South Africa: a flat R79/month Pro plan for up to 5 team members, deposits through Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha, and automatic WhatsApp reminders.

Can I take deposits with Vagaro in South Africa?

Vagaro's support centre says online booking deposits require Vagaro's own credit card processing and online shopping cart, and its card processing setup guides cover the US, Canada, the UK, and Australia. Booklink's Pro plan collects deposits or full payment through your own Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha account.

Does Vagaro charge commission on marketplace bookings?

Vagaro says you never pay commission for getting booked by clients on Vagaro, and its pricing page includes a free listing on the Vagaro Marketplace. That is a genuine strength. Booklink has no marketplace and charges no commission either; you share your own booking link.

Does Vagaro send WhatsApp reminders?

Vagaro's pricing page includes unlimited notifications and appointment reminders, and its support centre describes text and email reminders. WhatsApp is not mentioned on the pages we checked. Booklink's Pro plan sends automatic WhatsApp reminders.

Where is Vagaro stronger than Booklink?

Vagaro offers far more in one system: POS, card readers, inventory, memberships, forms, payroll, marketing, and a consumer marketplace with no booking commission. After seven calendar licences, extra staff cost nothing. If you are in one of its countries and want an all-in-one salon or gym platform, Vagaro is the bigger product.

Can I move from Vagaro to Booklink?

Yes. Set up your services, team members, and availability in Booklink (about 5 minutes), connect your South African payment gateway, then share your booking link on WhatsApp, Instagram, or your website. There is no direct import from Vagaro, so re-adding services and staff is a manual step.

Competitor facts on this page were checked on 26 September 2026 against the sources below. Prices and features change; tell us at support@booklink.co.za if something is out of date.

Related comparisons & guides

Ready to try a simpler alternative?

Start for free. No commissions, no credit card required.

Get started for free

Last reviewed: . Reviewed by Nico Huysamen, Founder & Director, Tora Technologies. Cape Town, South Africa.